Recent Challenge

2013 has been a challenging year so far. We laid another of the greatest generation to rest this past week, my mother-in-law, after a full 90 years.  In the restorative sewing frenzy that followed, I finished my entry in a recent quilt challenge, for my Beatles’ song of choice, “Honey Pie”!  Everyone participating chose one of their songs to illustrate in a 24″ x 24″ fiber art piece. The quilts will be exhibited in several venues.

I struggled a while with how to show a pie of honey, then at my husband’s suggestion, went instead with pi!  I’m pleased with the way it came out. I used several techniques: fused applique, paint stick texture plates, couching, and stamping with a hand carved stamp.

2 responses to “Recent Challenge

  1. I love Pi (and pie too). The finished piece is very nice, with great combination of techniques and a fun play on Pi(e). I really like the test piece too.

    • Thanks! I think I like the test piece better than the finished version – so I’m working on a couple more ‘tests’! Just saw the balls you’ve been working on this week – amazing detail. I love the complex designs.

      Cathy

Leave a Reply

