New Hat!


The Richmond Folk Festival (http://www.richmondfolkfestival.org/) is coming up in October and this month starts heavy recruiting for our sewing/quilting demo area in association with the Children’s Museum of Richmond (http://www.c-mor.org/). Their theme this year is ‘water’. So I made this hat to wear on my visits to the local quilt chapters to sign up volunteers! Then I can wear it at the festival, enter it in the State Fair, and maybe even model it at the fashion show/lunch at the Houston Quilt show!

For the pattern I used a straw hat I’ve thoroughly enjoyed that’s beginning to disintegrate. I cut 2 of each of three pattern pieces out decor bond fusible interfacing (heavy weight stuff): crown top, crown side, and brim. I layered strips of fabric across the fusible side for the brim, then pressed to tack in place. For the underside I used a solid piece of fabric, fused to the second decor bond brim piece. Then stitched the top and under brims together on the outside edge, turned, and stitched multiple lines of stitching around the brim to hold the top fabric strips in place.

I used a similar approach with the crown, fusing to the decor bond, sewing the crown side to the top for the lining, then the same with the outside of the hat. Next I slipped the crown lining inside the hat crown and quilted the top and sides, leaving a couple of inches from the raw edge unstitched. That way I was able to stitch the outside brim to the outside crown. Finally I hand finished the lining by folding the raw edge of the crown lining over the brim lining raw edge and stitching. Bonus – the hat fits great!

Saturday my favorite local quilt store, Quilting Adventures (http://www.quiltingadventures.com/) had a demo on Paintstiks, oil based paint for fabric. I’d worked with them a bit, but it was a great help to have some instruction. Three tips Joyce shared: use a tacky mat to work on so stencils and fabric don’t slip; use 404 repositionable spray adhesive on texture plates or stamps to keep fabric from slipping; clean up promptly with unscented diaperwipes. For stencils, rub the paintstik on the slick side of freezer paper to make a ‘puddle’ of paint, then pick up and/or blend with a stencil brush to do stencils. Works very well! You can also paint directly in the stencil, and then blend with the brush to the edges.

I came home and cut a frog stencil based on some of the fabric in my hat and played around with the Paintstiks. See photo above of samples. Then I stenciled some frogs on my hat! It may still need some beads and shells…

Leave a Reply

