Red Zinnias and Blue Bottles


I love red zinnias. Its a toss up whether they’re prettier waving in the garden, or gracing the inside of our home. I missed them this year – I planted a mixed selection instead. They came up mostly pinks, which were attractive but lacked the vibrancy of the deep reds. And I only planted a small patch – not a full row. But next year…!

I’m also fond of blue bottles, particularly the way the sun shines thru them. I think I may have enough now – they’re all around the ledge of our screened porch! Put them together with the zinnias, and it’s a winning combination.

At least that’s my hope – the small quilt shown above will join the ones I posted yesterday for our local quilt show, and will go to the State Fair later this month. The Fair, drawing from across the state, has strong competition in the quilt division, but we’ll see how it does. It was based on the photo, minus the third bottle.

The ATC is from a series I did in September 2005, the first year of our community garden. The quote on the back is from Georgia O’Keefe: “Nobody sees a flower, really – it is so small – we haven’t time, and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time.”

Leave a Reply

