Bur Oak in Virginia!

You may remember in my November 4th entry I posted a photo of a Bur Oak acorn that I saw at the Houston Quilt show.  It was huge!  I want one! The most I’d been able to learn was that their range doesn’t start until west of the great state of Virginia.  Until this week…

Thru a good friend that works at Virginia’s Department of Conservation and Recreation I got connected with the Big Trees site for our state: http://www.cnr.vt.edu/4h/bigtree  Searching the Virginia database on ‘bur oak’ resulted in three recorded as Big Trees, contact info provided.

I followed up on the two trees that appear to be on public property, and now have more information on both: one in Elkton just east of Harrisonburg, conveniently near several quilt attractions; and one in Danville on my favored route to the NC mountains. Then last night I had a call from a man right here in river city that has Bur Oak acorns and seedlings! 

I thoroughly enjoyed talking with him, and learned that the tree in Elkton is 105 feet tall, 6 feet in diameter, and around 300 to 400 years old.  It sheltered both Confederate and Union convalescent soilders in 1865 and was probably planted by an Indian, since as I mentioned earlier the Bur Oak is not native to this area.

The trees typically take 30 years to mature, tho he’s seen some that bore as earlier as 12 years.  They have multiple tap roots giving them strong resistance to wind. 

Stay tuned!

One response to “Bur Oak in Virginia!

  1. I want one too!! Hats for American Girl dolls???

Leave a Reply

