Recent Reads

One of the many joys of my retirement has been having time to read.  Murder mysteries are my current favorites, after many years of following science fiction. My most recent mystery discovery is author Cara Black.  She writes of a young woman investigator in Paris of the mid 1990’s.  Each of the three books I’ve read so far focuses on one of the ethnic minorities of that great city: Murder in the Latin Quarter (Hatians); Murder in the Marais (Algerians); Murder in Belleville (Jews).  Her depiction of the ancient/modern city that is Paris is constantly entrancing.

I’ve also been reading Simon Winchester.  My sister had suggested Krakatoa several years ago and I just got around to it.  Enjoyed it so much, and learned so much, that I then read The Professor and the Madman and The Meaning of Everything, both about the development of the Oxford English Dictionary.  The Map that Changed the World was also a good read, about the first geological map.  Winchester’s Outposts was interesting, but definately with an agenda regarding Britain’s treatment of her remaining colonies.

Ones I didn’t finish:

Salaman Rushdie’s The Enchantress of Florence – slow going and too fantastical for my tastes

The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin – excellent, but I got distracted toward the end; may have to check out again

Have a good Summer – and READ!

One response to “Recent Reads

  1. yay – time to read!! I’m starting “Arthur & George” by Julian Barnes, set in late 1800s UK, and just finished “The Body Artist” by Don De Lillo (don’t bother – too minimalist for me) and “Burning Bright” by Tracy Chevalier which doesn’t measure up to her other historical novels. I’ll check out the Winchester titles – they sound promising!

Leave a Reply

