Blue Ocean

At a yard sale last fall I found a book binding kit!  I thought I might get Christmas presents made with it, but that didn’t happen.  Earlier this month my desire to do some thread sketching came together with the book binding plan: Beach Blues!

The thread sketches are based on photos I took at Sandbridge early in December.  You may recognize some of them from an earlier post.  The fabric is some that I dyed. I traced the image on the fabric; fused fabric to canvas; sketched the design using free motion quilting on the sewing machine; added shading with oil paint sticks; added highlights with Lumiere paint; couched brown yarn with a zig zag stitch for border; embellished with shells, beads, and feather.

I was pleased with the practice piece (Blue Ocean One), so went on to do several, hoping to get at least one or two that would work for the book cover.  Wound up with a cover (yet to be applied to the book), another wall hanging, and four postcards! 

One of the postcards will go off to Cloth Paper Scissors – they’re having a reader challenge, Pass it on: Mail Art Affirmations” Reader Swap.  For more detail, see  http://www.quiltingarts.com/cpsmag/cps_challenge.html  Should be fun!

2 responses to “Blue Ocean

  1. Beautiful art! Can’t wait to see which postcard you send in for the swap. Thanks for sharing the information on the swap too.

    • Jenn, So glad you came to visit my blog! I think I’ve decided which post card to send you all – off to the mail soon!

Leave a Reply

