Mid Atlantic Quilt Festival


This past Thursday and Friday I had the opportunity to attend the Mid Atlantic Quilt Show in Hampton, VA put on by the Mancuso brothers. There were many myriad of amazing quilts, hundreds of vendors, excellent lectures, and a chance to see my fellow quilters! If you’re up for viewing dozens of photos, check out my album at http://picasaweb.google.com/cathy.tyler/2010MidAtlanticQuiltFestival?authkey=Gv1sRgCMP2n_XS_IzsWg&feat=email#

One of the highlights of the festival for me was meeting Seiglinde Schoen-Smith, who had on display the quilt show above. It’s an advent calendar, with suprises tucked behind 24 windows, not to mention the treats openly on display!

Seiglinde also quilted Mother Earth and Her Children, a quilt based on a fairy tale from her childhood. That quilt took Best in Show award at the 2006 International Quilt Show in Houston. Here’s a link to the book illustrated with her quilt: http://www.amazon.com/Mother-Earth-Her-Children-Quilted/dp/1933308184/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267368974&sr=8-1

She’s only done a handful of quilts, but the technical work in them is very fine, and her imagination is delightful. In addition, she’s a charming person to talk with.

I wanted to get a photo of her with her quilt, and she insisted I needed to be in the picture as well!

3 responses to “Mid Atlantic Quilt Festival

  1. Thanks for posting the pictures – you have a shot of my quilt, Kaaterskill. Seeing is believing! What a great show.

    • Janet, Thanks for stopping by my blog, and commenting. I love the combination of piecing and applique in your design – and I’m awed that you did the piecing and quilting by hand! Been awhile since I’ve hand quilted, I’m so slow. It was a grand show!

  2. Cathy-I would like to have your permission to post a link to your images from the Mid Atlantic Q Festival. Your link was sent to a person who is attending one of my courses on line-unbeknown to her, my piece Fragments is one of the pictures.
    #141.
    I am happy to know it was spotted and photographed 🙂
    I will take out the personal images and comments. I hope this is ok with you. The pictures are fabulous!
    Debbie Babin

Leave a Reply

