Mid Atlantic Quilt Festival

As always, I had a wonderful time at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival this past weekend.  For the first time I took a class, Silk Hat from a Sow’s Ear, by Reid Barnhart.  And now I have an Easter Bonnet, all ready for Spring!  It’s a very simple pattern, so may have to make a few more…

The spinners and weavers were there with multiple demos.  I got to sit at a small, floorsize loom and weave a few rows! Much easier to use than my last homemade version – and for $1,000 I can add one to my studio.  Or not.  However, I picked up a new weaving technique  – how to make a small, handheld loom.  I’ve shown some photos above, and here’s a link to a brief video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_kqUHE2ET_s

Take a 6″ x 4″ piece of corrogated cardboard; tape across narrow end; insert 17 toothpicts; wrap with yarn as shown; weave! I tried to find a link to this design without success, so hope the photos and video are sufficient.

I also took lots of pictures of the more than 300 quilts.  If you’re up for viewing around 50 of them, here’s a link to my picasa album: https://picasaweb.google.com/cathy.tyler/MidAtlanticQuiltFestival2011?authkey=Gv1sRgCLeRsJHxkMekZQ&feat=directlink

Now back to the studio!

Leave a Reply

