More Cool Hats

Hats with Inside Pockets

True to Reid Barnhart’s promise, I couldn’t make just one of her hats!  Here’re another three I made after the February class.  I incorporated an idea from Quilter’s Home Feb/March magazine – pockets inside the hat band!  You can find the free pattern for the QH version here: http://www.quiltershomemag.com/content_downloads/webHat.pdf

The pattern I used for these, however, was the one Reid provided in her class, which is very similar.  For two of mine I used socks – the black and gray stripes, and the brillant neon colors (compliments of my daughter!).  For all three I used old men’s ties for the piping, and for the brim of two of them. 

In making the sock and tie brims and hat band, I stitched and flipped pieces onto a base fabric, then trimmed to fit the pattern. 

Fun idea for Spring!

3 responses to “More Cool Hats

  1. wish i looked good in hats – these are so fun!!

  2. Reid Barnhart

    I love these… they’re great. the color combinations are fun…plus using the left over tie as a hat band.

    • Reid, Thanks for stopping by, and your kind comments! I wore the highly colorful one to vend yesterday (danspringscollection.wordpress.com) and received multiple compliments. I loved your class – Thank You!

Leave a Reply

