Thanksgiving Crafts

Hope everyone celebrating Thanksgiving had a wonderful day! It’s my favorite holiday – minimal commercialization and always a family gathering!  We drove over the river and thru the woods to grandmama’s house in Petersburg, toting lots of food and fun. For the tables I made arrangements like ones I saw earlier this Fall at the South of the James Market, using pumpkins as the vase.  I’m very happy with how they came out.  Worked great with the small pie pumpkins I bought for our porch for Halloween.

This year we had 6 cousins, 7 years old and younger, coming so I made Indian headdresses for them.  When searching for a 9″x13″ Pyrex glass pan to replace ours that self destructed earlier this year, I came across a deal on feathers!  I’d planned to make felt feathers, but these were a great time savings.  For the band I folded over lengthwise a 2″x44″ strip of fabric, padded the center with a 1″x6″ strip of felt, and stitched a couple rows of stitching across the felt.  After breaking two needles on the feathers, I left gaps in the stitching and glued the feathers in between the felt and the fabric.

All 6 kids were kind enough to let me tie on their headdress (except for the 5 month old), and even wore them – for maybe 15 minutes!!  Long enough to get a few photos!

Leave a Reply

