Water Color Adventure


Sunday was a very rainy Easter here in central Virginia. I’d been thinking about doing some water colors, and browsing the excellent video clips out there on the web. And I was toying with the idea of attending the Bon Air Artist Association meeting coming up on Wednesday.  I’ve been admiring their shows for the past 20 years, but never thought of myself as an artist.  Times change.

So I got out the paints and brushes, and over the next couple of days came up with these pieces. Lessson learned – I definately need to brush up on my skills! Got some books from the library yesterday, and checking on classes. I did go to the meeting last night which was very inspiring. They have approximately 140 members working in all media and are focused on exhibiting their art. Maybe I’ll need a workshop in Bath by September!!

4 responses to “Water Color Adventure

  1. Cathy, these are wonderful.

    About considering yourself and artist, it is what we do, making art, that makes us artists. Of course you would retort, “But is it art?” By whose definition do you go by?

    I found an interesting website that has an article titled “What Is Art? Favorite Famous Definitions, from Antiquity to Today” which you might like: http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2012/06/22/what-is-art/

    When the word “art” is used, most people automatically think paintings and sculpture. For someone who works with material that are traditionally pigeonholed as “craft” for their origins in utility versus aesthetic function, it is more difficult to overcome the popular image of what defines art. Hence, for those of us who work in, explore, and express ourselves with materials and techniques (no matter how creatively) in what is traditionally considered craft, it is hard to think of ourselves as artists (even when we create paintings or sculpture) when everyone else seems to not consider us to be such.

    I tend to think that we, as fiber artists, work in a blind spot that is becoming increasingly noticed and valued by others as art. They are slowly starting to share the road. I try not to worry about whether or not someone defines what I DO as art, but focus on what I feel. I am an artist: I explore, create, and express myself and ideas in a finished product that has aesthetic value (even if only to myself). Therefore, I am an artist by my definition.

    • What a wonderfully considered comment! Thank you! I continue to struggle with my own definition of art – ‘communication from heart to heart’ comes close. Great quotes on the brain pickin’s site – Coppola and his statement that risk is an essential element of art speaks to me. The artist must take a risk and do.

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Kathy, you have a wonderful eye. Being an artist is more what we are at our core than what we do. Skills can be learned, but having “the eye”, while it can be trained, is innate. A teacher I once had always emphasized that the difference beween an artist and a non-artist is in the way we see. The evidence of the way you see is clear in your lovely watercolors. You have a great eye for line and style. Better begin adjusting your view of your “artist” status!

Leave a Reply

