Biking in Scenic Richmond

Back to the blog!  WordPress sends out an excellent end of year summary for each blog, which I thoroughly enjoy. However, it did point out that my posts have been sadly lacking over the past several months.  Hoping to do better in 2015! With that in mind, here’re the two projects I finished this week!

The first is my entry in the Richmond Quilters Guild Challenge, Scenic Virginia from a Bicycle.  The quilts will be exhibited at the Mid Atlantic Quilt Festival at the Hampton Convention Center in February. The exhibit is in support of the UCI World Road Cycling Championships, a 9-day event that will come to Richmond September 19-127, 2015.  I’ve very happy with how the wall sized quilt came out!  It’s raw edged fused applique, machine quilted with cotton and silk fabrics.  I used wisps of cotton and Clorox to simulate the mist rising from the river.  The quilt is based on a photo I took early one November morning of the James River CSX Railroad Bridge, from the Powhite Expressway Bridge.  Thanks to my sister for the quilt idea, and to my husband for the placement of the required bicycle and the cotton wisps suggestions!

The second project is a tshirt quilt for a friend, constructed in such a manner that it is reversible and using more of each tshirt that methods I’d tried before.  I pleased with this approach, as it’s much easier to quilt each block before assembly.  Did take a lot of zig-zag stitching, however!  We’ll see what she thinks of it later today!

Happy New Year to all of you, may it be happy, healthy, and prosperous!

One response to “Biking in Scenic Richmond

  1. great artmaking, Cathy! can’t wait to see these in person this week!!

Leave a Reply

