Water Colors Accepted!

Another sunny, chilly day in central Virginia!  Here’s a look back on last summer and fall, thru water color.  These are the five pieces I submitted for Bon Air Artist Association’s February jury process. To exhibit with the group, you must be juried in for the media you wish to show.  I was successful on my first attempt with photography. Watercolor, however, has been a challenge.  I think I finally wore them down, or maybe I’ve improved – take your pick!  Now I have to get serious!  I kept a journal over the past six months of sketches for possible larger pieces and I feel that really helped my composition.  If it doesn’t work small, chances are its not going to work large.  There is still much for me to learn.  I found this great quote from Robert Wade: “Watercolour is a lifetime pursuit…mostly uphill.” Another one I like from Selma Blackburn: “In watercolor, if you are not in trouble, then you’re in trouble.”

On my list for this week is a visit to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts to check out their exhibit of watercolors by John Singer Sargent and Edward Hopper. To close, here’s a quote from Edward Hopper: “If I could say it in words there would be no reason to paint.”

 

 

 

One response to “Water Colors Accepted!

  1. Very proud of your success!

Leave a Reply

