Plein Air Richmond – Fast & Fresh

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I took a stroll along Cary Street this morning thru the area known as Carytown. Most of the shops were closed but restaurants were setting out chairs and preparing to open for brunch and early lunch. I was easily able to find parking – not always the case! And still there were folks on the street – its a lovely area of Richmond!

I was there to scope out possible plein air painting locations – Plein Air Richmond starts tomorrow with 30 invited artists from around the country, and will culminate next Saturday, June 25th, with a Fast and Fresh 2-hour painting session open to all in, you guessed it, Carytown! Let me know if any particular images in the slide show above appeal to you. Come out and paint, and/or support your favorite artists!

My plein air skills have a good ways to go before they top out, to say the least. I need every opportunity to practice. My easel, given to me by my resident design consultant many years ago, is checked out and ready. Just have to get papers and mats together and top up my palette! This will be a good warm up for the Cashiers, North Carolina, Plein Air Art Festival in July. They’re having a similar general participation paint out on July 15, which just happens to coincide with my summer jaunt to the mountains.  I can’t wait!

 

 

3 responses to “Plein Air Richmond – Fast & Fresh

  1. Love the colors and quaint shops – good painting subject matter!!

  2. Hi Cathy,

    I hope to come to Carytown to see what you are working on today.

    Of the pictures in the slide show, I do like the views with more depth, those that have a distinct foreground such as the intersections with the white Shasta daisies in front (also has nice perspective angle of buildings) and the front on view of Elements shop with the pink flowers and sign (wonderful colors too). In the second one, the building almost becomes a backdrop for the flowers and sign.

    Enjoy the fresh air painting. I am looking forward to seeing all your new paintings.

    Kalia

    • I really like the one with the daisies, too! Unfortunately, parking and set up space in that block wasn’t as good as where I eventually settled. May have to go back and do some more!

Leave a Reply

