Carytown, Fast and Fresh


Thursday I tested my gear and did my first water color on the easel. Friday night I gathered paints, papers, binder clips, water, etc. and stashed it all near the door. Saturday morning I woke up to rain!! I taped a smaller piece of watercolor paper to cardboard so I could work in the car if necessary and added a couple of large pieces of clear plastic to the pile. By 8:30 am I was cruising Carytown and the rain had stopped. I parked at MacDonalds (easy access to food and facilities!), my original choice for set up. After checking in and looking around, I moved the car up the block to right across from the bright lime green building. The photo I’d taken of it the week before caught my artist daughter’s interest and she suggested it could be an good subject.
9:30 am – time for the shotgun start!! I tried really hard to make a good sketch and paint well, keeping in mind that it had to be finished and framed for judging by 11:30. Nothing like a little pressure. I cannot believe two hours can go so quickly! I was under the overhang of a restaurant with top 40 tunes blasting over the sidewalk – shaded and serenaded, the good life. Folks wandered by and chatted, watched awhile, took photos and videos, and reported on some of 40 or so other artists they’d seen. In no time it was after 11 am – time to finish up! About that point a couple stopped by and said ‘that looks just like Carytown! is it for sale?’ And my painting sold!!
Thankfully I thought to take photos, which you see above. Looking at the pictures last night, right off I saw at least five areas for improvement. Next time out…
On reflection, I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

3 responses to “Carytown, Fast and Fresh

  1. Fantastic!! How great to get instant recognition for your 2 hours of fun!!

  2. Quelle bonne idée et bravo

  3. Thank you, Marianne! Always good to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

