Journal Wrap ups

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Several of my handmade journals are finishing up about the same time! Here’s a quick overview. First up in the slide show is a half fold journal with 120 lb paper, fusible vinyl on the cover. I’ve enjoyed this paper immensely – not quite as heavy as watercolor but stands up very well to that medium. I followed the facebook prompts for Art Every Day in May and June and feel energized for the Summer!

The second journal in the show is made from gessoed canvas from an old project, with watercolor and drawing paper. I liked the one sketch per page format. These were studies for larger works. Still a few sketches in this one to finish.

The third journal was made from a single full sheet of watercolor following the video tutorial by Cathy Johnson. I wasn’t sure about this format at first, as the backside pages turn kind of wonky.  But the front side works well, and gives you a wide format perfect for panoramic layouts, without a gutter in the middle.  I’ve done various subjects in this journal, some freehand and some traced from photos. The paper was an old watercolor of a winter woodland scene – I used that for journaling.  I’m so pleased with it that my next effort is a 16 page folded journal from a full sheet of watercolor paper – gives a larger work area.  Already have some pieces I want to sketch.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this journal tour!  Get out, draw, paint!!

Leave a Reply

